Easter came early!

Image

My friend has chickens, and since she was out of town, I took it upon myself to go check up on them. And to my surprise, THERE WAS AN EGG! The first egg and I FOUND IT!! I also picked my own arugula and lettuce to make a salad for dinner – I’m slowly turning into such a granola. I think Santa Barbara might be sucking the LA out of me.

This little egg got me thinking, and here are my findings:

  • Due to an egg’s high protein count, it is classified as a meat by the USDA.
  • The greenish ring that forms when you overcook a hard-boiled egg is actually just iron and sulfur compounds.
  • Uncracked eggs can be left in the fridge for a few months without spoiling – those expiration dates on the boxes are lies!!
  • All those liquid eggs sold in a carton nonsense are made from Grade B eggs, which are so unappealing they aren’t even found in most retail stores.
  • A chicken can undergo sex change. If you remove a hen’s left ovary, it becomes a male…technically. For example, a hen having undergone a sex change will stop laying eggs and start roosting (crack of dawn cock-a-doodle-doo, anyone?), but she will not produce sperm to fertilize eggs.

Well that’s the quick biology and nutrition note of the day. Can’t wait for breakfast tomorrow to eat my little egg!

Leave a Reply

