Naughty or nice?

Image

Who would have known hatcheting a door down would be so fun?

Wow I am really on terrible streak of not writing everyday like I am supposed to. Please let me explain:

  • I locked mine and my roommates’ keys in our room (the bedroom door is a keyed lock).
  • I used a hatchet to knock down the door because the locksmith couldn’t guarantee he could pick the lock.
  • I bought a new door and brought it home, only to find it was about 1/2 an inch too wide.
  • I took the it back, but the lumber department didn’t cut doors, so I went to Plan B and bought a saw and some sandpaper.
  • Sawed my door; attached it. I learned this is much easier said than done.
  • Then my kitchen cabinet door broke.
  • Fixed it; compared to a bedroom door, the cabinet was cake.
  • Went to my last day at work, packed, and hit the road to my parents’ house for the holidays, BUT I forgot driving through LA during the holidays, or any time for that matter, is like the death sentence, so naturally there were four accidents and I sat in the parking lot known as the 405 freeway for about five hours. That’ll get your road rage going…

Since the last few days were so eventful, I really haven’t had time to sit down and think, let alone write. But now that I’m home, back in the comfort of my parent’s house (fully stocked fridge, I have missed you…), it is time to revisit the blogosphere.

Image

My Mom's new iPhone case and background...seriously.

Naturally, when I come home, my mom always likes to show me her new gadgets. This time, there were two that she could not wait until the morning to show off. The first was a bread machine. It’s pretty magical; for basic bread add flour, yeast, sugar, salt, and water into the machine, close the lid (you don’t even have to stir), and voila! The second was her iPhone case and background, which was really the star of the show. Her case was fuzzy leopard print with two tiny ears on the top of it. Her background picture was a close-up of our fat cat, Milton. “Lesly, look, I’m teaching the kitty how to be a leopard!”I guess I figured out where my goofiness comes from.

But now I’m thinking, what makes a cat person a cat person and a dog person a dog person? Are there personality traits that link a person to favor a certain animal? Here is what I found:

According to a study at the University of Texas at Austin, a team of researchers led by Sam Gosling developed the Gosling-Potter Internet Personality Project to determine whether certain personality traits relate to dog or cat preference in humans. Findings show that “dog people” are likely to be conscientious, extroverted, and agreeable, whereas “cat people” tend to be more open and neurotic. Dog lovers are probably self-disciplined, outgoing, enthusiastic, energetic, trusting, and sociable. Cat lovers are more curious, creative, artistic, easily stressed, and nontraditional. The way I see it is that cats are naughty and dogs are nice; while cats are out being mischievous, dogs are by their owner’s side. Of course this isn’t a perfect measure, and I know plenty of cat fiends who embody all of the supposed dog personality traits and vice versa, but this is the closest any psychology study has come to accurately mapping personality traits as a function of dog or cat preference. You can read more about this study at utexas.edu.

Personally, I am 100% a dog person. Strike one: I’m allergic to cats, and I mean can’t breathe if I’m around a cat without taking allergy medicine. Strike two: I have a scar on my leg from getting into a tiff with my friend’s cat (territorial little thing he was). Strike three: the family cat brings home rodents and leaves them in the hallway, and though I realize we should be commending Milton for his stealthy skills as a predator, stepping on a mushy mouse carcass is a little out of my comfort zone.

Tonight I’m enjoying being back in my own bedroom. I can almost hear myself think again.

2 responses to “Naughty or nice?

  1. I find the study to be a bit reflective on me, I find myself to be both an introvert and an extrovert, and I adore being around both cats and dogs and interacting with them. 🙂 Thanks for the opportunity for me to learn something new!

    • That’s awesome, you really don’t meet many people with that great balance between being an introvert and extrovert. But I can definitely see how you embody both through the artistic yet fun way that you blog. Thanks for reading @Rocket!

Leave a Reply

